Courses and Memos

The Advanced Trauma Life Support® (ATLS®) program was developed by the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and its Committee on Trauma (COT).

The course offers doctors, nurse practitioners and physician assistants integral knowledge and skills that are essential for optimal patient management. The knowledge and skills taught in the course are easily adapted to all situations.

The ATLS Student Course presents a systematic and organized approach to assessing and managing the multi-injured patient. The course objectives include:

  • how to assess the patient’s condition rapidly in an organized manner,
  • resuscitation and stabilization of the patient,
  • how to determine if the patient’s needs exceed local capacity,
  • organization for the patient’s inter-hospital transfer (who, what, when, and how).

ATLS® was first introduced in the US and abroad in 1980.  Its courses provide you with a safe and reliable method for immediate management of injured patients.  The course teaches you how to assess a patient’s condition, resuscitate and stabilize him or her, and determine if his or her needs exceed a facility’s capacity. Inter hospital transfer and assurance of optimal patient care during transfer is also covered. An ATLS course provides an easy method to remember for evaluation and treatment of a trauma victim.

The NB Trauma Program invites physicians to register for this 2 ½ day course that provides physicians with a measurable, comprehensive and reproducible system of trauma assessment and critical interventions for the patient with multiple injuries.

Enrollment is limited and registration is first-come, first-served basis, upon receipt of full payment.



The American College of Surgeons is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to sponsor continuing medical education for physicians.


The American College of Surgeons designates this educational activity for a maximum of 20 PRA Category 1 Credits TM.  Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Mainpro+ Credit Designation

The College of Family Physicians of Canada accepts AMA PRA Category 1 credits as Mainpro+ certified Group Learning credits.  CFPC physicians can claim a maximum of 50 AMA PRA Category 1 credits per 5 year cycle.  Please enter your Mainpro+ credits as AMA PRA Category 1 credits under the Group Learning and certified categories in your Mainpro+ account.  Credits earned in excess of the maximum can be reported as non-certified.

For more information visit

This post is also available in: French